Tuesday, September 8, 2015

Review: The Sea Keeper's Daughters


The Sea Keeper's Daughters by Lisa Wingate
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

From modern-day Roanoke Island to the sweeping backdrop of North Carolina’s Blue Ridge Mountains and Roosevelt’s WPA folklore writers, past and present intertwine to create an unexpected destiny.

Restaurant owner Whitney Monroe is desperate to save her business from a hostile takeover. The inheritance of a decaying Gilded Age hotel on North Carolina’s Outer Banks may provide just the ray of hope she needs. But things at the Excelsior are more complicated than they seem. Whitney’s estranged stepfather is entrenched on the third floor, and the downstairs tenants are determined to save the historic building. Searching through years of stored family heirlooms may be Whitney’s only hope of quick cash, but will the discovery of an old necklace and a Depression-era love story change everything?


I just could not get into this book for some reason. Maybe my mood was all wrong... I don't know. I was really disappointed in myself because I usually really like her books! I was having a hard time relating to Whitney and all the angst she goes through in this book. I felt like there were a lot of loose threads in the book and not all of them are resolved. However, unlike the last Lisa Wingate book I read, this one does have some romance and I liked the ending better. You find out in the last chapter what happens with Whitney and Mark; what happens to the Excelsior; what happens with Whitney's two restaurants; and also what happened to the people in the secondary story. And there is a surprise twist that I really liked. :)

*Thanks to Tyndale House Publishers and Netgalley for the complimentary copy of this book for review purposes. All opinions stated are my own.*

View all my reviews


Press Photo (photo credit Amber Zimmerman)

Lisa Wingate Official Bio (short)

Selected among Booklist’s Top 10 for two consecutive years, Lisa Wingate skillfully weaves lyrical writing and unforgettable settings with elements of traditional Southern storytelling, history, and mystery to create novels that Publisher's Weekly calls "Masterful" and Library Journal refers to as "A good option for fans of Nicholas Sparks and Mary Alice Monroe."
Lisa is a journalist, an inspirational speaker, and the author of twenty-five novels. She is a seven-time ACFW Carol Award nominee, a multiple Christy Award nominee, a twotime
Carol Award winner, and a 2015 RT Booklovers Magazine Reviewer’s Choice Award Winner for mystery/suspense. Recently, the group Americans for More Civility, a
kindness watchdog organization, selected Lisa along with Bill Ford, Camille Cosby, and six others as recipients of the National Civies Award, which celebrates public figures who work to promote greater kindness and civility in American life. Booklist summed up her work by saying, “Lisa Wingate is, quite simply, a master storyteller.” More information about her novels can be found at www.lisawingate.com.