Monday, October 16, 2017

Review: Summer Holiday- A Timeless Victorian Collection by Nancy Campbell Allen, Sarah M. Eden, & Annette Lyon

My rating: 5 of 5 stars



From the publisher of the USA TODAY bestselling Timeless Romance Anthology series, comes our brand new Victorian Romance line, with SUMMER HOLIDAY.

Three brand new Victorian Romance novellas by Nancy Campbell Allen, Sarah M. Eden, and Annette Lyon.

BREAKFAST AT SOMMERPOOL’S by Nancy Campbell Allen:
As Tessa Baker competes for the supervisor promotion at Sommerpool Department and Mercantile, she’s faced with a ridiculous list of tasks to complete in order to “win” the job. Tessa would love to be the first female supervisor ever to work at the Sommerpool, but her competitor is cheating at every turn. Discouraged, Tessa agrees to let David Bellini, a family friend and Italian Conte who is new in town, help her. When she discovers that he’s the new owner of Sommerpool’s, but wants to evaluate the employees unobserved, Tessa has mixed feelings. She soon realizes that she’s falling for David, but what chance does a working-class woman like her have with an Italian Conte?

HOWEVER LONG THE WAIT by Sarah M. Eden:
Carina Herrick says goodbye to the man she hopes to marry, knowing their separation will be temporary. Grant Ambrose is off to follow his dream and become established in business so that he can provide for Carina and a life together. He promises to write; she promises to return his letters. Yet, only a few months pass and already their letters become shorter and fewer. Finally, Carina is forced to give up on Grant if only to protect her breaking heart. Her parents are dead set against her becoming a spinster and insist she accept the proposal of the odious Mr. Baskon. With no hope of another marriage proposal, Carina is forced to make a difficult decision, one that can lead her either to happiness or misery.

THE LAST SUMMER AT IVY HOUSE by Annette Lyon:
Every summer Sarah travels to Ivy House in London as one of the household servants to the Millington family. This summer, she’s particularly looking forward to seeing Jacob, a servant who lives at Ivy House year-round. They’ve been exchanging letters since the previous summer when their friendship deepened. But when Sarah arrives at Ivy House, Jacob seems more reserved around her and less forthcoming. Has she put greater meaning in their budding relationship than she should? When Sarah discovers that Jacob has a dark secret and wants her to give up her dreams in exchange for helping him, she’s not sure if she’s willing to make the sacrifice.



I loved this first book in the new Timeless Victorian Collection from the publishers of the best-selling Timeless Romance Anthology series.   These novellas are clean, easy reads with sweet romance and dashes of humor.

In BREAKFAST AT SOMMERPOOL’S by Nancy Campbell Allen, I enjoyed Tessa's determination to be the first ever female supervisor to work at her department store.  The way Tessa resolves some of the issues she has with fulfilling her ridiculous list of tasks and the way she stands up for herself was great!  The romance between Tessa and David was sweet and I loved how supportive and protective he was of her.

In HOWEVER LONG THE WAIT by Sarah M. Eden, I just loved how things turn around for Carina in spite of her parents.   And I loved Aunt Chadwick!   With some well-timed meddling from her aunt, Carina & Grant have a second chance at love.  Sweet story!

Last was THE LAST SUMMER AT IVY HOUSE by Annette Lyon. The story of two below-the-stairs servants who are in love and trying to make things work out with the help of a few other people, such as the surprisingly helpful housekeeper, Mrs. Roach, was heart-warming and sweet.

*Thanks to eBooksForReview for a complimentary copy of this book. I was not paid nor required to write a positive review and all opinions stated are my own.*

View all my reviews on Goodreads.






Sunday, October 15, 2017

Blog Tour Review & Giveaway: KJV Know the Word Study Bible

~Don't forget to enter the GIVEAWAY below!~




Gain a greater understanding of the Bible book by book, verse by verse, or topic by topic.

The study of God's Word can be easy and rewarding if you break down the Bible into easy-to-understand segments. The KJV Know the Word Study Bible offers three easy ways to begin studying Scripture and helps individuals transition from being a casual reader of the Bible to becoming a regular student of the Bible. You can choose to study the Bible book-by-book, verse-by-verse, or topic-by-topic; each path offers powerful insights that will help you develop a daily routine of Bible study.

The book-by-book series of notes leads you through the main points of each book of the Bible. The verse-by-verse notes help you to dig deeper into God's Word. The topic-by-topic articles, which cover 21 theological topics, guide you through a series of insightful notes and give you a thorough biblical understanding of each topic. With the beautiful and timeless text of the KJV translation, the KJV Know the Word Study Bible offers you choices of how to study Scripture and grow in your relationship with Christ.

Features include:

-King James Version Bible text
-Three easy approaches to study the Bible: 1. Book by Book; 2. Verse by Verse; 3. Topic by Topic
-Insightful introductions for each book of Scripture
-Words of Jesus in red
-Beautiful two-color interior page design
-Comprehensive list of theological notes
-Concordance
-Full-color maps
-8-point type size

Learn more and purchase a copy.

About the publisher:

In business since 1798, Thomas Nelson is one of the oldest Bible publishers in the world and the largest publisher of the King James Version. Their mission is to inspire the world by using our talents, assets, opportunities, and influence to engage and equip people with Scripture and draw people to a deeper study and understanding of God's Word.

Find out more about Thomas at https://www.thomasnelsonbibles.com.


This study Bible has some really good features.  My copy is a hardback with nice, smooth feeling pages.  It's not small and is pretty hefty - not something you would carry with you.   A leather bound version of this study Bible might be easier to carry.  It has a nice presentation page in the front and a concordance and full color maps in the back.   Each book of the Bible starts with a summary, a "how to study", and "study the book highlights".  Throughout each section there are multiple study notes and insights.   All of this creates a well thought out, nicely put together study Bible.   My only concern would be that, since there is no indication as to who wrote the study notes, the theology behind some of the statements might not align with my beliefs. 

*Thanks to LitFuse and the publisher for a complimentary copy of this book.  I was not paid nor required to write a positive review and all opinions stated are my own.*


GIVEAWAY

Diving deeper into God's Word can be easy and rewarding if you break it down book by book, verse by verse, or topic by topic with the new KJV Know The Word Study Bible by Thomas Nelson. The book-by-book series of notes leads you through the main points of each book of the Bible. The verse-by-verse notes help you to dig deeper into God's Word. The topic-by-topic articles, which cover 21 theological topics, guide you through a series of insightful notes and give you a thorough biblical understanding of each topic. With the beautiful and timeless text of the KJV translation, the KJV Know the Word Study Bible offers you choices of how to study Scripture and grow in your relationship with Christ.

This fall, become a regular student of the Bible and enter to win the Kindle Fire giveaway!




One grand prize winner will receive:
  • A copy of the KJV Know The Word Study Bible
  • A Kindle Fire 7
  • A Kindle Fire case (winner's choice)
Enter today by clicking the icon below, but hurry! The giveaway ends on October 31. The winner will be announced November 1 on the Litfuse blog.








Litfuse Blog Tour landing page for
 KJV Know The Word Study Bible
  


Join the Flock! Litfuse Publicity Group blogger

Wednesday, October 4, 2017

Blog Tour Review: Many Sparrows by Lori Benton


My rating: 5 of 5 stars




Either she and her children would emerge from that wilderness together, or none of them would. . . .

In 1774, the Ohio-Kentucky frontier pulses with rising tension and brutal conflicts as Colonists push westward and encroach upon Native American territories. The young Inglesby family is making the perilous journey west when an accident sends Philip back to Redstone Fort for help, forcing him to leave his pregnant wife Clare and their four-year old son Jacob on a remote mountain trail.

When Philip does not return and Jacob disappears from the wagon under the cover of darkness, Clare awakens the next morning to find herself utterly alone, in labor and wondering how she can to recover her son . . . especially when her second child is moments away from being born.

Clare will face the greatest fight of her life, as she struggles to reclaim her son from the Shawnee Indians now holding him captive. But with the battle lines sharply drawn, Jacob's life might not be the only one at stake. When frontiersman Jeremiah Ring comes to her aid, can the stranger convince Clare that recovering her son will require the very thing her anguished heart is unwilling to do-be still, wait and let God fight this battle for them?

Learn more and purchase a copy.

Woodsmall pin2 Woodsmall pin1



Lori Benton was raised east of the Appalachian Mountains, surrounded by early American history going back three hundred years. Her novels transport readers to the eighteenth century, where she brings to life the Colonial and early Federal periods of American history. When she isn't writing, reading, or researching, Lori enjoys exploring and photographing the Oregon wilderness with her husband. She is the author of "Burning Sky," recipient of three Christy Awards, "The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn," Christy-nominee "The Wood's Edge," and "A Flight of Arrows."

Find out more about Lori at http://loribenton.blogspot.com.






Oh my heart!!  This book is so emotionally engaging!  As I've come to expect from Lori Benton's books, you'll be drawn into this story, and the life lessons it teaches, with a depth of feeling that will leave you quietly pondering your own life and the ways God works for our good, even though it sometimes hurts.

I very much admired Clare's grit and determination to go after her son.  Oh my word, she was determined!!  And after just having a baby, too!  Wow!   My heart just hurt for the things she goes through in her pursuit of getting her son back.  She struggles throughout the book with her faith and who can blame her?  Thankfully, God sends Jeremiah her way and he patiently guides her and becomes her protector amongst the Indians.  Jeremiah understands what she is going through and has learned to trust God through his own life experiences. 

This book is not a light read but I have no doubt you'll be captivated once you start.  Lori Benton is a very skilled writer and her awesome talent with words will keep you engaged and emotional as you read about this time in American history that our generation can probably never fully comprehend.

*Thanks to LitFuse for a complimentary copy of this book. I was not paid or required to write a positive review and all opinions are my own.*

View all my reviews on Goodreads.




Litfuse Blog Tour landing page for
 Many Sparrows
  

Join the Flock! Litfuse Publicity Group blogger

Monday, October 2, 2017

CD Review & Giveaway: Glory Song by Matt Redman

~Don't forget to enter the GIVEAWAY below!~


This is an awesome CD!   If you love praise and worship music, I'm sure you'll enjoy this CD.  You've probably already heard some of these on the radio.  My favorites are Gracefully Broken, Greatest Hallelujah & Questions (You Are Faithful)!  So up-lifting!  Enter the giveaway below to win your very own copy! 



Glory Song
by Matt Redman


About the album: 
Matt Redman teamed up with several of his worship-artist friends for this album, first releasing the track “Gracefully Broken (feat. Tasha Cobbs Leonard).” Tasha Cobbs Leonard also released her own version of this song on the same day! The album also features Kierra Sheard, Guvna B, Madison Cunningham, and Kim Walker-Smith. 






Social Corner:
Gracefully Broken Top Of The Tower Live Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=__haUJns_b8
Gracefully Broken (Lyric Video): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IJNR0lxbIP4
Gracefully Broken (Song Story): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7LeKJYkhIo8

Buy Link: http://capcmg.me/GlorySong?IQid=flyby



GIVEAWAY

Prize - One copy of the new CD- Glory Song by Matt Redman

Ends 10/07/2017

Contest Rules

• Enter below for your chance to win a copy of the new CD "Glory Song by Matt Redman". Get bonus entries for tweeting about the contest after you enter (I wrote the tweet for you to make it easy to share) and for following the other prompts.
• Only one entrant per mailing address, per giveaway.  If you have won a prize from our sponsor, Propeller / FlyBy Promotions, in the last 30 days, you are not eligible to win.  Or if you have won the same prize on another blog, you are not eligible to win it again.   Winner is subject to eligibility verification.
• Open only to those who can legally enter. Giveaway is open to residents of the continental U.S. and Canada only. You must be 18 years or older to enter.
• Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. The winner will be chosen randomly through Rafflecopter and will be listed here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. 
• This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. 
• Giveaway was organized by Rachel from Smiling Book Reviews and sponsored by Propeller/FlyBy Promotionsand Family Christian. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.

a Rafflecopter giveaway


“Disclosure (in accordance with the FTC’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”): Many thanks to Propeller Consulting, LLC for providing this prize for the giveaway. Choice of winners and opinions are 100% my own and NOT influenced by monetary compensation. I did receive a sample of the product in exchange for this review and post."





Saturday, September 30, 2017

Blog Tour Review & Giveaway: Deadly Proof by Rachel Dylan

~Don't forget to enter the GIVEAWAY below!~

Click here to purchase your copy.



Book title: Deadly Proof
Author: Rachel Dylan
Release date: September 5, 2017
Genre: Legal Romantic Suspense

Tapped as lead counsel in a corporate cover-up lawsuit against Mason Pharmaceutical, Kate Sullivan knows this case could make her career. What really drives her, though, is getting justice for the victims whose lives were ruined by the company’s dangerous new drug. But when a whistleblower turns up dead, it paints a target on the back of everyone involved.

Former Army Ranger turned private investigator Landon James steps in to handle security for Kate. He’s still haunted by mistakes in his past and is determined never to let something like that happen again. But it soon appears someone is willing to do anything–even commit murder–to keep the case from going to trial.

As danger closes in, Landon can’t help but admire Kate’s courage and resolve–but will her determination not to back down become too great of a risk?




Rachel Dylan was a litigator in one of the nation’s most elite law firms for over eight years and now works as an attorney at one of the Big Three automobile manufacturers. She is the author of four Love Inspired Suspense novels and lives in Michigan with her husband. She is active on social media, and you can visit her website at www.racheldylan.com.

Q & A with Rachel Dylan

The Atlanta Justice series is centered around strong, female lawyers who take on high-stakes cases. What made you want to write their stories?
I’d have to say it’s personal! Having been an attorney for eleven years now, I love being able to pour parts of myself into the books. My everyday life as a lawyer isn’t that exciting and is definitely not as dangerous! But I’m able to draw on what I’ve lived through to bring life and authenticity to these characters.

What type of research did you do for Deadly Proof?
One of the great things about writing books related to my career is that I know lawyers who practice all different types of law. Deadly Proof focuses on Kate Sullivan, who is a plaintiff’s attorney taking on a big pharmaceutical company. I don’t do this specific type of plaintiff’s work, but I know lawyers who do, and I was able to talk with them. Also, I was able to relate to my characters on the defense side because I’ve done that work for years. It was really fun to write the perspectives of characters on both sides of the case.

Is there a reason you chose Atlanta for this series?
Yes! I’m from Georgia and lived in Atlanta, practicing law at a large law firm, for eight years. I wanted to pick a setting I was intimately familiar with to give readers an authentic Atlanta experience—sweet tea and all.

Where do you think Kate’s passion for her work comes from?
Kate truly believes that her life’s work is to help those who have been wronged. I believe a lot of her passion stems from her strong faith that has developed over the years. She’s not a lawyer to make big bucks but to change people’s lives for the better.

What is the next book in the Atlanta Justice series about?
Book two is about Kate’s friend Sophie Dawson, who we meet in Deadly Proof. Sophie is an Atlanta prosecutor. This story is exciting because it involves a completely different type of legal case than Deadly Proof. But I promise things get just as dangerous!



Deadly Proof by Rachel Dylan
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is a fairly fast paced, well written, suspenseful legal thriller with a light touch of romance.  The legal terms are well explained for those who aren't familiar with legalese and it was interesting that we got to read about both sides of the case.  I think it added to the drama of the whole story line.

I liked how Kate had such a strong work ethic along with a compassionate heart for the people she is trying to get justice for.  It is encouraging that in spite of her personal issues she keeps her faith and isn't afraid to share it.   When the suspense and danger increase, former Army Ranger turned private investigator Landon James is the perfect hero to provide security and romance for Kate.  In spite of his own personal struggles, he is a strong support for Kate.

Although this book is well written, I found the wording a little over-descriptive at times and I think personally, I just wasn't all that interested in the lawyer/legal process aspect of this book.  But that's just my personal feelings.  I do think it was well written and will be enjoyed by many who enjoy legal drama/thrillers.

*Thanks to Celebrate Lit for a complimentary copy of this book. I was not paid or required to write a positive review and all opinions stated are my own.*

View all my reviews on Goodreads.

Blog Stops

September 26: Faithfully Bookish
September 27: Fizzy Pop Collection
September 27: Blogging With Carol
September 28: Fiction Aficionado
September 28: Moments Dipped in Ink
September 28: Genesis 5020
September 29: Just Commonly
September 29: Bukwurmzzz
September 29: D’S QUILTS & BOOKS
September 30: 100 Pages per Hour
September 30: Smiling Book Reviews
October 1: A Reader’s Brain
October 1: Bigreadersite
October 1: Carpe Diem
October 2: Karen Sue Hadley
October 4: Mary Hake
October 6: Pause for Tales
October 7: Just Jo’Anne
October 8: Cafinated Reads


Giveaway


To celebrate the tour, Bethany House is giving away 
four Suspense Novels and a $25 Starbucks Gift Card!!
Click below to enter. Be sure to comment on this 
post before you enter to claim 9 extra entries!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Sunday, September 24, 2017

Blog Tour Giveaway: Waiting For Butterflies by Karen Sargent

~Don't forget to enter the GIVEAWAY below!~


Click here to purchase your copy.




Book title: Waiting for Butterflies
Author: Karen Sargent
Release date: April 4, 2017
Genre: Christian Women’s Fiction

When tragedy strikes, Maggie discovers a mother’s love never ends—not even when her life does. Longing for her family after her death, she returns home where she helplessly witnesses her family’s downward spiral in the aftermath of her passing.

Her husband is haunted by past mistakes and struggles to redeem himself. Her teenage daughter silently drowns in her own guilt, secretly believing she is responsible for her mother’s death. Only her five-year-old, full of innocence, can sense her presence.

Although limited by her family’s grief and lack of faith, Maggie is determined to keep a sacred promise and salvage her family before her second chance runs out.

A tender portrait of a mother whose love reaches beyond possible, Waiting for Butterflies will embrace your heart and not let go.





Karen Sargent creates characters whose imperfect faith collides with real-life conflicts, taking readers on a journey through grace and redemption to discover enduring hope. A romantic element is woven within each story. In addition to writing inspirational novels, she blogs at The MOM Journey…where moms aren’t perfect and that’s perfectly okay. Her writing has been featured in Guidepost’s Angels on Earth magazine and on ForEveryMom.com. When she is not writing, she teaches high school and college English in the beautiful Arcadia Valley where she resides with her husband and two daughters. Visit her at KarenSargentBooks.com.

Guest Post from Karen Sargent
Waiting for Butterflies: The Accidental Controversy

I didn’t intend to write myself into controversy when I wrote Waiting for Butterflies. Yes, it is Christian fiction. Yes, the main character is a “lingering spirit.” And no, ghosts aren’t biblical. Thus the controversy.

As the story idea began to stir my imagination after my mother-in-law’s unexpected death, I wondered how ghosts fit into the Christian view of the afterlife, especially since I too believe our souls go to Heaven once we die. So I asked my pastor. He referred to Hebrews 11, the “Faith Hall of Fame” that lists Abraham, Isaac, Jacob, Moses, and many spiritual giants who lived by faith. That list is followed by Hebrews 12:1 which states, “Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses…” My pastor explained witnesses is translated by some to mean spectators. So maybe, maybe, this suggests those who have died can somehow still be present—emphasis on maybe.

But…this gave me just enough permission to play with the idea of a mother’s love being so strong that she could remain after her death until she was certain her family would heal. I was writing fiction after all.

When my manuscript was complete and I began submitting to agents, the response was mixed. Some replied with a simple, “This story isn’t for me.” Some warned, “This will be a hard sell to Christian publishers.” Yet others were more encouraging. Finally my story made it to the desk of an acquisition editor who emailed, “This is the one.” Waiting for Butterflies found a publishing home.

Now that my book is in the hands of readers, most are surprised to hear my topic is controversial. Like me, many believers haven’t really considered ghosts in a biblical context. But a few are adamant that the storyline contradicts their beliefs.

I know my story—just like every story—will not appeal to everyone. But I certainly didn’t set out to offend my fellow believers, and I sincerely apologize if anyone finds it offensive. However, I appreciate this perspective one skeptical reader shared in her review:

“While I was initially put off by the idea that a spirit can remain and interact, in a sense, with those still living, the author handled it with sensitivity and grace. We all have ideas about the unknown, but it is just that, unknown, and I could relate strongly to the thought of wanting to continue to influence and connect with loved ones after death in order to help them.”

I appreciate that in spite of the controversy, this reader gave Waiting for Butterflies a chance—and five stars.



Oh my!! If you want to read a book that grabs your heart and won't let it go, you HAVE to read this book! Very well written, with lots of emotionally charged moments and real-to-life struggles that will keep you turning pages. And despite the tragedy that the story is based on, there is plenty of hope, healing, and miracles as the family learns to lean on each other and God to get them through.

I wasn't sure what to expect from a Christian "ghost" story but I was hooked from the beginning.  After all, this is fiction and I read it with that viewpoint in mind.   And I've read and seen plenty of other fiction that includes beings that have not "passed over" and I can't think of any that included a Christian theme.  So this was actually a refreshing change. 

This book was full of real life issues that include the tragic death of a young mom and how her family deals with their grief and feelings of guilt.   You have the father who is suddenly thrust into the role of a single parent and has to make some life choices in order to do what is best for his family.  You have the oldest daughter's downward grief spiral that will tear your heart out.   And then you have the bright spot in the story - the youngest daughter who can still hear her mom's "lingering spirit" and tries to get the others to believe too.

With real life issues such as infidelity, grief, guilt, drugs, cutting, and the danger of online predators, as well as the hope of family, healing, miracles, love and faith, you'll be hooked to the end!

*Thanks to Celebrate Lit for a complimentary copy of this book. I was not paid or required to write a positive review and all opinions stated are my own.* 


Blog Stops

Blogging With Carol, September 22
The Power of Words, September 22
D’S QUILTS & BOOKS, September 23
Carpe Diem, September 23
Christian Bookaholic, September 24
Smiling Book Reviews, September 25
Bigreadersite, September 26
Artistic Nobody, September 27
Pause for Tales, September 29
Remebrancy, September 30
A Readers Brain, October 3
Cafinated Reads, October 4



To celebrate her tour, Karen is giving away a grand prize that includes a few of Karen’s favorite things – one of which is a Hobby Lobby gift card!!! Click below to enter. Be sure to comment on this post before you enter to claim 9 extra entries! https://promosimple.com/ps/bef1