Friday, January 29, 2016

Cover Reveal & Giveaway - The Fall of Lord Drayson by Rachael Anderson

Coming soon from USA Today Bestselling Author Rachael Anderson

The Fall of Lord Drayson

Who is he really? A high and mighty Lord, or a lowly servant?

When Colin Cavendish, the new earl of Drayson, informs Lucy Beresford that she and her mother have two months to vacate the house they've called home for the past two years, Lucy is fit to be tied.They have no money, no relations they can turn to for help, and nowhere to go. How dare the earl break the promise his father had made to the Beresfords without so much as a twinge of conscience?

Mere hours later, Lucy discovers the earl unconscious and injured in the middle of the road. Grudgingly, she takes him into her home to tend to his wounds, but when he awakens with no recollection of who he is, Lucy seizes the opportunity to teach a much-needed lesson in humility. Pushing her own twinge of conscience aside, she informs the earl of Drayson that he is nothing more than a mere servant. Her servant, in fact.

And thus begins the charming tale of a pompous lord and an impetuous young woman, caught together in a web so tangled that it begs the question: Will they ever get out?


The Fall of Lord Drayson
Coming late-summer 2016

add to goodreads


Author Rachael Anderson

A USA Today bestselling author, Rachael Anderson is the mother of four and is pretty good at breaking up fights, or at least sending guilty parties to their rooms. She can't sing, doesn't dance, and despises tragedies. But she recently figured out how yeast works and can now make homemade bread, which she is really good at eating.

Cover Reveal Giveaway

$25 Amazon Gift Code or Paypal Cash

Ends 2/17/16

Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, January 25, 2016

Cover Reveal - First Light by Michele Paige Holmes


Michele Paige Holmes

Release Date: February 25, 2015

Pre-order on Amazon
Add to your Goodreads list

Seventeen-year-old Adrielle doesn’t believe in magic; she merely possesses it, though no one has ever mentioned that her unusual gifts—exceptional speed, a flair for fire, and an intimate knowledge of flora—aren’t things she was born with. When Adrielle starts a fire that burns down the family home, she must deal with both her grief and her siblings’ hurtful rejection.

While journeying to far away Tallinyne, in search of her older, estranged sister—the only relative who might take her in—Adrielle is separated from her escort when the carriage is beset by thieves. Alone, she is thrust into a dangerous and unfamiliar world where she encounters fairies and gypsies, a wild boar, a drunk cook, and an evil queen whose curse is sweeping death across the land. Adrielle also finds love, falling hard for a kind, funny, handsome—and completely unavailable prince.

From the glowing pearls tucked beneath her mattress and keeping her awake at night, to Queen Nadamaris’s curse that seems to thwart Adrielle’s every effort, Adrielle struggles to navigate a world of magic she never imagined, where people she knows and loves are not always what they appear to be. With the glowing pearls—and her fondest desire—within her grasp, she is forced to make a choice no girl should ever have to—satisfying her own heart or saving the kingdom.

Michele Paige Holmes spent her childhood and youth in Arizona and northern California, often curled up with a good book instead of out enjoying the sunshine. She graduated from Brigham Young University with a degree in Elementary Education, and found it an excellent major in which to indulge her love of children’s literature.
Her first novel, Counting Stars (Covenant Communications 2007), won the 2007 Whitney Award for best romance. Her companion novel, a romantic suspense titled, All the Stars in Heaven (Covenant 2009), was a Whitney finalist, as was her first historical romance, Captive Heart (Covenant 2011). My Lucky Stars (Covenant 2012) completed the Stars series.
After having a novella published in A Timeless Romance Anthology European Collection (Mirror Press, 2013), Michele decided to focus on historical romance and began Hearthfire Historicals, with the debut novel Saving Grace. A companion novella, Loving Helen was released February 2015.
Michele has been a member of the same critique group for over fourteen years and feels privileged to meet with fellow authors Annette Lyon, Heather B. Moore, LuAnn Staheli, Sarah M. Eden, J. Scott Savage, and Robison Wells. She has been a member of RWA and URWA, LDStorymakers, and The League of Utah Writers. Michele enjoys both attending and teaching at conferences.
When not reading or writing romance, Michele is busy with her full time job as a wife and mother. She and her husband live in Utah with their five high maintenance children and a Shitzu that resembles a teddy bear, in a house with a wonderful view of the mountains. You can find Michele on the web at and on Facebook and twitter .

NOTE:  I have not read this book so I do not know the content but everything I've read from Michele Paige Holmes has been clean so I felt it would be a safe bet that this one will be too.  :)

Monday, January 18, 2016

Review: Whatever Is Lovely: A Coloring Book for Reflection and Worship

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is a beautiful coloring book! Nice heavy stock cover with pretty gold accents and little bits of color on the front. The coloring pages are nice and thick and I especially like that there is only one picture to color per page. That way if you want to use markers, the color won't bleed through to a picture on the back. They're pretty enough to frame if you want to. However they are not perforated so I don't know how the edges would look after being torn out.

On the back of each page there is a scripture verse and the name of the illustrator/hand-lettered by. Each page has beautiful illustrations surrounding some impactful words from Scripture, hymns, preachers, teachers, and writers. Waterbrook has also provided a worshipful Spotify playlist link to listen to while you are coloring.  Nice!

This is an awesome addition to the adult coloring book trend that is really big right now. :D

*Thanks to Blogging For Books for the complimentary copy of this book for review purposes. All opinions stated are my own.*

See more at

View all my reviews

Thursday, January 14, 2016

Review: Love in the Details: A November Wedding Story

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

About the Book

She left him to save his future, but they’ve never gotten over each other.

When Josh returns to his hometown of Martinsburg, Texas, to help his best friend get married, he didn’t intend to run into church wedding coordinator—and ex-girlfriend—Holly. He can’t help but pine after the girl he never got over. Not a day's gone by since Josh parted from Holly that he hasn't thought about her. The pain of the past eight years has been too much to bear and he doesn't want to make himself vulnerable to her again. But the more time he spends with her, the harder it is to deny the love he still has for her.

Holly broke up with Josh years ago in an attempt to ensure his future success. But she loved him then and still loves him now. As she helps him plan his best friend’s wedding, she can’t help but feel horrible for the pain she caused him. And even though she longs to be with Josh, she's terrified of letting herself fall for him again.

Will Josh and Holly be able to keep things as they are when their true feelings threaten to surface at every turn? Or will they risk their hearts on the hope that God's timing really can be best?

My Review

This was a sweet novella about two high school sweethearts getting another chance at love. Josh and Holly had a deep connection and love for each other so when she broke up with him after high school, they both had a lot of pain and heartache to work through. I liked how they reconnect during the book - cautiously but without anger. They find out quickly that the spark is still there. Now they just have to convince themselves to let go of their fear and learn to trust again.

All in all it's a moving story with sweet romance and delightful touches of humor.

About the Author

Becky Wade makes her home in Dallas, Texas, with her husband and three children. She's the Carol Award and Inspirational Reader's Choice Award-winning author of contemporary Christian romances My Stubborn Heart, Undeniably Yours, and Meant to Be Mine. Visit Becky online at, Facebook: authorbeckywade, and Twitter: @beckywadewriter.

*Thanks to BookLook Bloggers for the complimentary copy of this book for review purposes. All opinions stated are my own.*

View all my reviews

Monday, January 11, 2016

Swagbucks 2016 Resolutions Double Cash Back Deals

January 1st is famously known as a time of New Year’s Resolutions and we always hear a lot of talk about trying to live a healthier lifestyle this time of year. It’s hard to do by yourself though, especially as the colder months set in. If you've considered a get-fit New Years Resolution this year, We've got the site to help you keep it, and save some cash too! Shopping with Swagbucks can help you get ahead of the game, while earning tons of Cash Back on New Year’s Resolution deals this New Year. It’s time to make your 2016 Resolutions stick!

Looking for athletic apparel to help get your body in gear for a fitness plan? These featured stores on Swagbucks have everything you’re looking for and offer up to 10% Cash Back:
  • Sports Authority
  • REI
  • Nike
  • Under Armour
  • New Balance
  • Reebok
  • Champs Sports
  • Adidas
  • Eastbay
  • Speedo USA
  • And many, many more
Looking to change your diet to prime your body to reach it’s full potential? These featured stores are a one stop shop and offer up to 14% Cash Back:
  • Nutrisystem
  • GNC
  • Vitamin World
  • Vitacost
  • A1 Supplements
  • And many, many more
Shifting your focus to getting your personal finances looking healthy and in shape, these tax prep programs and office supply headquarters are the first step on the path to financial comfort and offer up to 50% Cash Back!
  • TurboTax
  • H&R Block
  • Office Depot
  • Vistaprint
  • Staples
  • And many, many more
Can’t decide what you’re looking for, there’s always the classics that have everything you might need and offer cash back for all of those every day purchases, on top of their low prices and your credit card points!
  • Target
  • Walmart
  • Macy’s
  • Kohl’s
So have Swagbucks help you reach your 2016 Resolutions! 2016 promises to be the best year yet so get a head start on your goals. Have a health, fitness or financial New Years Resolution? Share it in the comments and tell us how well you've been able to stick to it so far!

If you are new to the Swagbucks world, make sure to create your free account here. Once you do, you will be able to join the Team Challenge right away and start getting paid for doing your everyday online tasks.    For more information on Swagbucks see my previous posts.

Friday, January 8, 2016

Review: Twelve Days in December

Twelve Days in December Twelve Days in December by Michele Paige Holmes
My rating: 5 of 5 stars


A Christmas Novella from the bestselling Hearthfire Romance series by Michele Paige Holmes:

Five months isn’t enough time to grieve the death of her husband and marry again, but when the unexpected opportunity to take her sister’s place as the bride of wealthy New York businessman, William Vancer, presents itself, twenty-four year-old Charlotte Holbrook agrees. Their marriage of convenience will provide a secure future for her son, while William will be able to claim the inheritance he needs to expand his company westward.

To begin their perfect and perfectly safe arrangement, William allots the last twelve days in December to become acquainted with his new family—a task more easily accomplished than he had imagined. For in Charlotte he finds a tender heart and companion, while stepping into the role of father to her son, brings William a great measure of joy as well. Before the twelve days have passed, he finds himself wishing their marriage of convenience could be something much more.

For Charlotte, every day with William is one of overwhelming gratitude, as he anticipates and provides for her needs, as well as the fondest desires of her heart. More than material comforts, William offers friendship as well, and a loving concern that Charlotte has gone too long without. Guilt ridden, she struggles with her growing attraction and wonders how she can ever remain loyal to her first husband, while allowing herself to love William as he deserves.


I love that we get to find out what happens with Charlotte and William from the third book in the Hearthfire Romance series - Marrying Christopher. Charlotte and William are forced together by circumstances beyond their control but they couldn't be more suited for each other than if they had been each others first love. I love their interaction and William's easy acceptance of Charlotte's son. A very sweet short book.

Although you can probably read this book without reading the first three, you'll understand better what is happening at the beginning of this book if you've read them first. You can see my review of the first three books here:

*I received a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes. I was not required to write a positive review and all opinions stated are my own.*

View all my reviews

Blog Tour, Review, & Giveaway: Broken Things to Mend

broken things to mend

My rating: 4 of 5 stars


***This book is part of the Power of the Matchmaker series that features one recurring character—the match maker—but it is a STAND-ALONE novel.***

Celia is in desperate need of a change--a change of scenery, a change of pace, and a complete redo of all relationships. Not knowing what else to do, she opens a map, closes her eyes, and lets fate decide her future. Then she packs her meager belongings and buys a one-way ticket to a little town on the fringes of Oregon's Deschutes National Forest called Sisters. She's wanted a family for years. Will she find one in Sisters?

What Celia doesn't plan to find is a strange Chinese woman whose meddling ways keep throwing her in the path of a handsome, but reserved, forest ranger. But no matter how kind or dependable Silas seems to be, there are some things in Celia's past that neither of them can escape, and this time, the damage might be too much to mend.


This was a well written story.  A little on the sad side because it deals with abuse.  But it also tells a story of hope and how you can make a difference in people's lives by showing a little care and compassion.

Celia has not had a pleasant life and the latest blow makes her desperate for a big change.  I like that she had the strength and courage to escape and make that choice to try to find a better place.  I love the town and people of Sisters.   They take Celia in and before she knows it, she feels like she finally has the family she's always longed for.  But she has a secret that could potentially ruin the relationships she is forming.

The author does a good job of dealing with the abuse Celia has suffered and how it changes and continually affects Celia's life and decisions.  I loved the ending and so will you! :)

*Thanks to eBooksForReview for a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes. I was not required to write a positive review and all opinions stated are my own.*

View all my reviews

Karey WhiteAuthor Karey White

Karey White grew up in Utah, Idaho, Oregon, and Missouri. She attended Ricks College and Brigham Young University. Her first novel, Gifted, was a Whitney Award Finalist.

She loves to travel, read, bake treats, and spend time with family and friends. She and her husband are the parents of four great children. She teaches summer creative writing courses to young people and is currently working on her next book.

Broken Things (1)

Blog Tour Giveaway - $50 Amazon Gift Card or $50 in Paypal Cash

Ends 2/2/16

Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

January 6th
I Am A Reader – Spotlight
books are love – Review
Maureen’s Musings – Review
The Book Lovers’ Lounge – Review
Seasons of Humility – Review
Amy @ Books, College, and Other Random Things – Review

January 7th
Bookworm Lisa – Review
Too-clever – Review
Brooklyn Berry Designs – Review
Shade tree book review and blog – Review
Lori’s Reading Corner – Spotlight

January 8th
Why Not? Because I Said So! – Review
Smiling Book Reviews – Review
My Book A Day – Review
Joy in the Moments – Review
Book Geek Reviews – Review

January 11th
Literary Time Out – Review
Girl of 1000 Wonders – Review
Julie Coulter Bellon – Review
Katie’s Clean Book Collection – Review
Shelf Full of Books – Review
Nicely Phrased – Spotlight

January 12th
StoreyBook Reviews – Review
Bonnie Gets A Say – Review
MHDeanCollectibles Book Blog – Review
Wishful Endings – Review
From the TBR Pile – Review

January 13th
Mel’s Shelves – Review
Wordpaintings Unlimited – Review
RachelleWrites – Review
3 Partners in Shopping, Nana, Mommy, &, Sissy, Too! – Spotlight

January 15th
Mom with a Reading Problem – Review
Romorror Fan Girl – Review
Crystal’s Chaotic Confessions – Spotlight

January 18th
My Life. One Story at a Time. – Review
Queen of All She Reads – Review
Backing Books – Review
Gustosa Giveaways – Spotlight

January 19th
Fascinating Quest – Review
Books Are Sanity!!! – Review
Getting Your Read On – Review
Practical Frugality – Spotlight

January 20th
Christy’s Cozy Corners – Review
Room With Books – Review
BookHounds – Spotlight
Author June McCrary Jacobs – Spotlight

January 21st
LibriAmoriMiei – Review
Min Reads and Reviews – Review
Hott Books – Review
A Writer’s Dream – Spotlight

January 22nd
Singing Librarian Books – Review
My Creatively Random Life – Review
Diana’s Book Reviews – Review
Tifferz and Her Sisterz Book Reviewz – Review
Cassandra M’s Place – Spotlight

Monday, January 4, 2016

Book Review & Giveaway: Merchant of Alyss by Thomas Locke

~Book Review, Q & A with Thomas Locke, and a GIVEAWAY!!~

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Hardcover, Paperback and ebook: 368 pages
Publisher: Revell
Publication Date: January 5, 2016


With the discovery of an ancient Milantian scroll, Hyam feels the resurgence of his magical power. But what he discerns in the text could mean war.

Merchant of Alyss is Book 2 in the best-selling Legends of the Realm fantasy series. Book 1 is Emissary.

Plot Synopsis

Life for Hyam is bittersweet. Admired by the citizens of Falmouth for his heroic rescue mission, he cherishes these peaceful days with Joelle by his side. Yet grief over the loss of his magical skills during the great Battle of Emporis threatens to engulf him. Sometimes he even wishes he had never known magic at all.

When Hyam comes into possession of an ancient Milantian scroll, he is thrilled to feel the surge of power that courses through him whenever he touches it. But what he discerns in the text could mean war. He embarks upon another journey to determine its true meaning and forestall any attack. But as Hyam is seeking answers, he is unaware that the merchant of Alyss is seeking him…

Free PDF sampler of MERCHANT OF ALYSS – Chapter 1


I'm loving the Legends of the Realm fantasy series!!  It reminds me of Lord of the Rings with it's wizards, different races, and a hidden and enchanted Elvin forest.   I loved getting lost in this fantasy world! :)

In Merchant of Alyss we continue reading about Hyam and Joelle as well as the loyal friends they have made along the way.   Although one quest has been completed and one enemy vanquished, there is more to come!  

As this well developed story unfolds, familiar characters will face their own demons, some face personal loss, new characters become familiar and essential to the story, and they all work to defeat the evil that is trying to take over their world.  

There is much to love about this book - romance, humor, adventure, epic battles, dragons, enchanted forests, good vs evil - this is must read fantasy fiction!

*Thanks to the author and Revell for a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes. I was not required to write a positive review and all opinions stated are my own.*


About Thomas Locke

Thomas Locke is an award-winning novelist with total worldwide sales of seven million copies.

His work has been published in twenty languages, and critical acclaim includes four Christy Awards for excellence in fiction and his 2014 induction into the Christy Hall of Fame.

Thomas divides his time between Florida and England, where he serves as Writer In Residence at Regent’s Park College at The University of Oxford. Visit Thomas at


Q&A With Thomas Locke

Q: Why did you write MERCHANT OF ALYSS?

Thomas Locke: I began work on MERCHANT OF ALYSS before EMISSARY (book 1 in the series) had been accepted for publication. I had no idea anyone would accept these stories, since they were so utterly different from what I had been writing up to that point. But I was so captivated by the concepts and the emotions that I had to write it.

Q: What was your favorite scene to write?

Thomas Locke: My wife was speaking at a conference in San Francisco, and I had come along to play spouse. I rented a bike and was cycling around the city when I was struck by the image of a guard standing on the parapet in a fierce winter storm, watching a new crimson mage. Who then turns away from the city, walks down to the magic grove protecting Hyam’s home, and attacks.

By the time we returned home, I had the first quarter of MERCHANT OF ALYSS mapped out.

Q: There is the element of magic to the story. What do you hope readers take away from the “Magic” element in the story?

Thomas Locke: The issue of using magic was something I grappled with for some time. I found immense guidance from the works of C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien.

Four thousand years ago, when the concept of “epic” fiction originated, there was a specific purpose behind stories where magic and mythical beasts played major roles. The Greeks sought to create worlds that were bigger than life, with challenges and obstacles that were completely and utterly beyond the reach of mortal man.

The authors sought to portray through story that a normal human being can grow beyond the impossible challenges of life. They wanted to show normal people, with flaws and weaknesses as great as those we all carry today, can in fact rise up. They can triumph.

That is what I seek to do with the Legends of the Realm series. I want to return to the original aims of fantasy fiction. I want to re-insert the concept of heroic struggle, and challenges greater than life, and triumphs over evil and darkness.

Q: For what audience did you write this novel?

Thomas Locke: Increasingly, the younger generations within the faith community are moving away from the mind-set of their parents. I am not suggesting that they are abandoning their faith. What I mean is, they are abandoning their parents’ concept of church.

Many younger believers are trending towards a faith that dwells inside the larger mainstream world. Their lives no longer center upon a church so large it contains its own sense of community. They worship in home churches, or smaller centers focused on outreach. They accept a multi-cultural and multi-racial lifestyle, and seek a church that reflects this.

And their entertainment is being drawn from this wider arena.

At the same time, they are not comfortable with much of the darkness that dominates current television and movie trends. With this Thomas Locke brand, I seek to join a small but growing number of believers who are doing this with books and film.

The preliminary response, both from within the younger generations in our faith community, and from the mainstream, has been more than wonderful. It has been a gift.

Q: What question about MERCHANT OF ALYSS do you wish someone would ask?

Thomas Locke: For MERCHANT, I wish someone would ask, “How did you develop such a sense of natural flow out of a realm that doesn’t exist? How did you manage to structure a fantasy where the logic and surprise fit together powerfully?”

I feel this is a crucial element of both EMISSARY and MERCHANT. And with these two books, the answer is extremely different.

With EMISSARY, it came together as naturally as breathing. This happens sometimes. I wish it happened more often, but that is really in God’s hands.

With MERCHANT OF ALYSS, it was the exact opposite. I burned with this story. I had to write it. The passion and the joy were immense. But it was still such a struggle. And the first draft reflected this.

So I completed the work. Then I set it aside. Six weeks later I did a full-bore redraft. Then I set it aside again.

Six weeks later I did another total redraft. Then I sent it to the editors, who said, “Don’t change a thing.”

Then I did the entire process a third time. It went into line edits. And I did it a fourth and final time. A lot, lot, lot of work to make it as smooth and simple as EMISSARY was at first draft.

Q: Where can we learn more about you and your books?

Thomas Locke: You’ll find me at these online outlets:

Subscribe to Thomas’s e-newsletter and blog:

Receive Thomas’s latest blog posts via your feed reader:



GIVEAWAY - Win the first two books in the Legends of the Realm fantasy series!

Prize is a print copy of Emissary (Book 1)  and Merchant of Alyss (Book 2)!

Contest Rules
  • Click the link below to enter (follow the prompt and leave a comment on this post).
  • Get bonus entries for tweeting about the contest after you entered (I wrote the tweet for you to make it easy to share) and for following the other prompts.
  • Contest opens Monday, January 4, 2016 at midnight CST and closes Friday, January 8, 2016 at 11:59 p.m. CST.
  • No purchase necessary.  Contest is limited to entrants with U.S. shipping addresses.
  • The winner will be chosen randomly through Rafflecopter and will be listed on this post as well as sent an email.  The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning.  The winner will have 3 days (72 hours) to respond.  After 3 days another winner may be chosen.
  • This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified.  
  • This giveaway was organized by Laura at and sponsored by the publisher, Revell.   The books will be mailed by the publisher.  

a Rafflecopter giveaway